Free Open Source Software Design Tools

Free Open Source Software Design Tools

Introduction

Free Open Source Software appears at first glance to be under-represented in the design world, in terms of designers getting involved and in software available to designers.

I have been researching how to get started and how to donate hours of my time into UX and UI design for FOSS projects.

This will be my list of articles, tools, and other resources to get into FOSS design, I hope it helps you too - I will regularly update this article with new links.

Articles / Websites / Blogs

// Open Source Design %[opensourcedesign.net] This contains news, tips and jobs for Open Source projects

// How can graphic designers contribute to Open Source projects? %[graphicdesign.stackexchange.com/questions/4..

Hardware

  • Lenovo T470s (second hand, business refurbished from eBay) Lenovo laptops have a long history of supporting user-maintenance. I have an old T430s from early 2012 still going strong.

  • MacBook Pro M1 (preferred, daily driver)

Software

Linux Distribution

Design software:

Non-free honourable mention

  • Figma figma.com I also dabble in Figma, which is proprietary but awesome!

Design Resources (templates, icons, components etc)

Last updated: 2021-10-16