Starting on a UX/UI journey

Starting on a UX/UI journey

My learning journey

Hello!

For those that care, I am a 30-something old Product geek from the UK.

I started my professional career in customer support > product support > product management way back in 2009.

I have always been fascinated by how software looks and feels and the differing UI trends and standards that have come and gone over the years.

I tend to install new apps just because I’m intrigued with how the navigation flow looks. I’d say 5% of iOS apps I’ve ever installed I end up intending on actually using.

I have attempted to formalise my professional training in some form of design and stopped just shy of going to university to study art and design.

For the past 15 years, I have freelanced as a logo/brand strategist to keep my design juices alive.

Now, around 10 years later, I wished I had persevered and chosen User Experience Design as a subject, now later in life, I find myself finally dipping my toes in.

Join me, if you wish - on my journey into researching different free UI courses and daily/weekly UI challenges, completed using various tools (Affinity Designer, Figma and Penpot.app) which I will post on Dribbble/Behance and report back here.

/first.

Cover image attribution: Photo by Mohamed Boumaiza on Unsplash